Skip Nav

Ping Yang Named Distinguished Professor by Texas A&M University

Dr. Ping Yang has been named a University Distinguished Professor by Texas A&M University, and appointed Associate Dean for Research by the College of Geosciences.

Feb 28, 2020

Dr. Ping Yang, professor of atmospheric sciences and holder of the David Bullock Harris Chair in Geosciences, has been named a University Distinguished Professor by Texas A&M University.

Yang is one of seven faculty members across the university who received the honor of Distinguished Professor, which is the university’s highest faculty honor. The 2020 class of University Distinguished Professors also includes faculty from the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, the College of Engineering, the School of Law, and the College of Science.

“Distinguished Professorships celebrate the high caliber and global significance of research underway at Texas A&M University,” said Provost and Executive Vice President Carol A. Fierke.

The designation of University Distinguished Professor identifies members who are preeminent in their fields and who have made at least one landmark contribution to their discipline. Their research and advancements are considered central to any narrative of the field.

Yang and the other honorees will be inducted at a ceremony in March.

In addition to the honor of being named University Distinguished Professor, Yang has been formally appointed as the Associate Dean for Research for the College of Geosciences, effective immediately. Yang has served as interim Associate Dean for Research since September 2019.

The Associate Dean for Research is responsible for the administration of research elements of the College.  This charge includes ensuring the integrity of research programs and enhancing the College research enterprise, and faculty professional development programming related to scholarly impact.  The Associate Dean for Research serves as liaison on research matters for the College with a variety of University offices including the Vice President for Research, the Dean of Faculties Operation Council, and International Programs.

“Dr. Yang’s superlative record of scholarship, combined with his deep experience previously serving the college as department head of Atmospheric Sciences will be invaluable to us all, and we are exceedingly grateful for his leadership,” said Dr. Debbie Thomas, dean of the College of Geosciences.

By Stephanie Taylor '10

Geosciences TAMU Logo

Aggies can change the world. Geoscientists lead the way.