Congratulations to the Geology & Geophysics student winners at the GGGSC Research Symposium

Apr 18, 2017

Congratulations to all the Geology & Geophysics students who won an award at the 2017 GGGSC Research Symposium!

The Geology & Geophysics Graduate Student Council (GGGSC) hosted their 10th annual Student Research Symposium on March 30, 2017 in Rudder Tower. Every spring semester, the leadership positions in the GGGSC run a research symposium which includes oral presentations and poster presentations for both graduate students and undergraduate students in the Department of Geology & Geophysics. Various undergraduate and graduate students not only present, but volunteer at the symposium throughout the day. Faculty members and guest judges from various industries, judge the presentations with a grading rubric that is then scored.  
The 2017 Annual GGGSC Research Symposium winners for the four categories are listed below:
Graduate Completed Research – Oral Presentations:

1st – Kaytan Kelkar

2nd – Roy Bowling

3rd – Zihui Gao

Graduate Completed Research – Poster Presentations:

1st – Autumn Eakin

2nd – Tyler Ruchala

3rd – John Phillips

Graduate Proposed Research – Poster Presentations:

1st – Raquel Granados-Aguilar

2nd – Justin Estep

3rd – Samuel Price

Undergraduate Research – Poster Presentations:

1st – Oluwaseyifunmitan Olaniyi-Sholanke

2nd – Sarah Giles

3rd – Connor Lofton

Congratulations to all the winners of the 10th Annual GGGSC Symposium!

The GGGSC would like to thank all of the presenters, judges, and volunteers that contributed to the symposium, as well as the Berg-Hughes Center.

The GGGSC is also very grateful for the generous support provided for the Student Research Symposium by BHP Billiton, Marathon Oil, BP, and Chevron.

To view the 2017 GGGSC Student Research Symposium Technical Program, click here